Orange’s new repair service- a good experience

 It’s been bothering me for a while that my mobile is turning itself off after 3 min of every call I make, certainly made my bills thinner, but yet quite a drag. I have been carrying the same Sony Ericsson for a year or so and was planning to upgrade to the new iPhone or HTC Magic Android (Soon coming from Pelephone) – and left the decision to when they will arrive to Israel so I can compare and make a wiser resolution.

So, you may understand why I didn’t want to spend any money on repairing a mobile that I intend to replace soon…

So.. I  have been postponing it for some time, but on last Thursday I decided- no more 3 min calls (!)  and went to repair my mobile at an Orange point of service near my work.

Upon entering I took a number and waited for about 5 minutes to get service. When my number came up I approached a desk and was ready to get upset… (Like any good Israeli)

After I Explained to the representative at the desk the problem and mentioned why I don’t intend to spend a lot of money on the repair she surprisingly gave me a 50% discount with no arguments. I was pleased. Then, she backed up all my numbers,  gave me a simple Nokia handset to use while mine  is being repaired, and told me that it would take 2 business days.

She then offered me to send the handset to my house with a discounted delivery (20ILS instead 44 ILS) or to pick it up from any point of sale or customer care center in my area. I chose to pick it up from the same place.

When I was about to leave, she gave me extra 120ILS to spend on content downloads from the Orange portal, that was a treat that left me smiling, though she mentioned to cancel it after I am done or I’ll be charged for a regular content package on the next month. I left with a big smile.

Orange have recently changed the way they deliver their repair service as well as the whole processes inside their points of service and sale around Israel.

I picked up the brochure explaining the new repair process to customers so I will translate it for you native english speakers:

1. Starting now you can give away your handset for repair in one of 70 Orange points spread in malls and centers around the country.

2. The handset will be sent to a proffesional unique lab, and will go through a comrehensive repair and a meticulous quality check.

3. Meanwhile you will get an alternative handset which will allow you to stay connected

4. You will bw able to pick up your phone from any Orange point after 2 business days or to receive it with a delivery (available for a fee).

Orange service2

Orange service1

Leave a Reply

